//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Totally terrified

Today I am ridiculously nervous. About a month and a half ago I began the process of scheduling an elective surgery. It had to get pushed back since I was admitted into the hospital for seizures and my husband had to work the day it was previously scheduled to make up for lost time while I was in the hospital. Waking up in the hospital and not knowing where I was was one of the most terrifying experiences of my life. Hopefully this won’t trump that.

In the process of routine blood work pre-surgery, an abnormality (don’t ask me what, I don’t know yet) was discovered in my bloodwork. They tested me again at the hospital, taking 8 vials of blood, and now I have been referred to the UT (University of Tennessee) Cancer Institute. The doctor I am seeing is a hematologist as well as an oncologist, so I am hopeful that despite the looming “cancer” that my problem is much simpler and not so scary as that.

I am going to see the doctor today at noon. I don’t know yet if it is for another round of testing or if the doctor is going to interpret the results of the previous tests. After all of the medical problems I’ve had in the past few years, I can only hope that this might answer it all. And be an easy fix. 🙂

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

