//
you're reading...
Food for Thought

Late Night Rambling

I have to say, this raising a kid thing is not the easiest job in the world. And even more important than that is that it is never what you expect it to be. Perceived easy moments can actually be much more difficult– like trying to bargain with the demon harpy bean-sidhe (say: banshee) in the shopping cart. I want so much to give my sweet faery princess the world, but I also want to ensure that she respects it too.

I don’t know for sure, but I imagine that the better part of my generation feels the same way I do. Things, belongings, material items–they are fleeting, circumstantial, inconsequential. How do you teach a child that “stuff” doesn’t matter, but we still must be respectful of it?

Situation: Gwennie’s running around and spills grape juice on my mom’s light-colored carpet. Me: Its just carpet, it can be replaced. My mom:But its the nice and neat and I want to keep it that way.

We are bombarded with the BIGGER PICTURE. Don’t sweat the small stuff. And then guess what happens tomorrow? Well, its all in the details. I get lost when I try to find the meaning in what can only be categorized as meaningless.

What is truly important? How do we remove the fluff and clutter from our lives so that we can live every moment? I have often found that the right path is the hardest, most challenging option. The thing I’m scared of.

Awful late night ramblings. Thanks for hanging in there with me and reading. Sorry you don’t have anything to show for it. 🙂

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

