//
you're reading...
Education, Food for Thought, Religion

Why College Students Are Losing Their Religion

I would like to say first: I have a lot of friends who are both intelligent and religious and I have every respect for these individuals. But it is so very hard for me to understand why they think the way they do, as I am sure they feel the same about me. To each his own. Let’s just agree to disagree, okay?

Please go and read the article by Conor Friedersdorf from The Atlantic here : Why College Students Are Losing Their Religion

My favorite part: To me, there are better explanations for the fact that “the more university education a person receives, the more likely he is to hold secular and left-wing views.” So wait! Is the idea here that the more education a person gains, the more knowledge he or she has, the more likely he or she is to turn away from religion? ‘Cause that’s certainly the way I read it. And I’ve never heard truer words.

Come to think of it, it even says it in the bible itself–eat from the tree of knowledge and lose the garden of eden. Ignorance may be bliss (garden of eden), but knowledge is power!!! Oh, sorry. I just couldn’t help myself. 🙂

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

