//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

14 Books I Think Everyone Should Read :)

I’m going to start with an easy one— The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley.

I don’t think it would be a big surprise to anyone that my first job was shelving books at the library. I couldn’t believe that I was getting paid to do something that I most certainly would have done for free. I think that is still my dream job. While shelving I was exposed to titles I might never have discovered on my own.

And that’s how I came across The Mists of Avalon. Marion Zimmer Bradley spun the tale of Arthurian legend told from a woman’s perspective. I don’t know that her idea was wholly unique–but it was for me. I could identify with Morgaine, her outcast status and the lure of the mystical. I wanted to learn how to rely solely on myself like she did. I was never going to be the most popular girl in school, and the Mists let me know that that was okay. It was my first taste of championing the underdog and it allowed me to find the confidence in my self to just be me.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Book #6: Rock and Roll is Here to Stay | My Book Addiction - April 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

