//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Original Sin

 

I cannot believe in “original sin.”  I cannot fathom how an infant can be anything but clean and pure and fresh and new.  How can anyone look into the eyes of a newborn and claim that he or she is in any way wrong.  And what is this original sin?  If I understand correctly, the original sin was when Adam and Eve ate a “forbidden fruit” from the “tree of knowledge.”  This is always delivered with the utmost sincerity.  I can’t see how this explanation can even be called an explanation.  The complete lack of specification compels the reader to say, “Hmmm…  This must be a metaphor.”  But that can’t be if you believe the Bible word for word.

I have so many problems with religion and Christianity specifically that it is often hard to pull all of my thoughts on the topic together at one time.  I think it will be inevitable that some of my thoughts and opinions might contradict other beliefs that I hold.  I often can see and believe in opposing viewpoints.  I’m hoping that by opening myself to mass scrutiny I will be able to discover what I truly believe.

But the topic of the moment is this original sin.  Taken from Genesis from the King James Version of the Bible:

But the serpent said to the woman, “You will not die. 5 For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” 6 So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was to be desired to make one wise, she took of its fruit and ate; and she also gave some to her husband, and he ate. 7 Then the eyes of both were opened, and they knew that they were naked; and they sewed fig leaves together and made themselves aprons.

Man was created in god’s image.  Woman was created of and for man.  Why would an omniscient god even create a tree of the knowledge of good and evil? Why would he not bestow his creation with this obviously useful knowledge?  I’m sure there are many people shouting “free will!” at me right now.  That god gave us the free will to choose to follow him or not.  Why create something for which the intended purpose brings about the downfall of the creation?  Assigning some “

 

higher purpose” to this does not justify the pointlessness.  It smacks heavily of a more modern man trying fruitlessly to find a purpose for his life.

I invite you to agree or disagree with me.  I would like very much to have a civil discussion on religious topics.

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

